Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Mental Exercise: Assault Cannons Glancing AV12?

Every once in a while, it is important to challenge the mind. This, for some reason, feels like a good time to do it. So I'm posting a little mental exercise today... how well do you know the 40K rules and codices? Personally, I've only read Space Marines, Blood Angels, Tau, Orks, and Eldar, so I'll bet my readers will come up with more answers to this question than I can. Here's the challenge:

For some reason, it dawned on me the other day that assault cannons can't normally glance AV12. If you're shooting an AV12 vehicle with assault cannons, a five doesn't do anything, and a six prompts you to add another d3, making an actual result of "12" seemingly impossible. It's not always impossible, though. I know there's at least one exception to this rule. How many can you come up with?

2 comments:

  1. Dark Angels and Black Templars used to have different smoke launcher rules that downgraded all penetrating hits to glancing for that turn. I'm not currently aware of any other codices with similar rules, but something like that would be necessary. The FAQs DA and BT received recently updated their smoke launchers to use the 40k rulebook for their rules.

    You might also be thinking about the Daemonhunters Assault Cannon which doesn't have rending but will no longer exist on April 2 as it gets replaced by Codex: Grey Knights.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Good call... I didn't know of those.

    The only example I could think of was Assault Cannons vs. Wave Serpents. The energy field prevents any extra dice from being rolled to penetrate.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts with Thumbnails